Be Free to Create – Art Journal Pages

Hello Everyone!!! Today I am sharing with you all an art journal spread I created using my all time favourite colours. I’m not sure about you, but I never really know how my art journal pages will turn out. I tend to just go with the flow and that is just how this was created….just going with the flow.

Make sure you watch the process video which is at the end of the blog xx

Farrel-Tailor-Be-Free-Art-Journal-Page-TCW

The Crafter’s Workshop provided me with some product to create this project. The opinions I share are solely my own.

I start of by dry brushing some paint onto my art journal pages. I used Dylusions Paints – Peony Blush, Laidback Lilac & Cherry Pie. While the paint is still a little wet, I then do a technique called ghosting using the TCW737 Love Sonnet stencil. This is where you use a baby wipe to lift off the paint to expose the base colour through the stencil.

love-sonnet-stencil

Next I stenciled part of TCW776 Brick Poetry onto the sides of my pages using Dylusions White Linen.

brick-poetry-stencil

I then used the circles from the TCW753 Desert Mirage stencil to add Vibrant Turquoise paint.

desert-mirage-stencil

Here you can see I have used the ghosting technique again but this time using TCW757s Circle of Jewels 6×6 stencil. I am only using this technique over the turquoise circles.

circle-of-jewels-stencil

I did use a black and white Uni Posca Paint pen to outline the circles and the the 2 stenciled borders. Using Crushed Grape Dylusions paint, I stenciled some of the lines from TCW770 Wildflower Duet.

wildflower-duet-stencil

I then stenciled the flowers onto both of my art journal pages using Calypso Teal and Funky Fuchsia Dylusions Paints. I didn’t wash my make up sponge and you can see the crushed grape paint has mixed with the calypso teal.

wildflower-duet-stencil-2

I then decided that my side borders needed a little bit more POP…. so I went over the stencil again but with Cherry Pie.

brick-poetry-stencil-2

Because I have so many layers now, I realised that you can’t see the original ghosting I did using TCW737 Love Sonnet stencil. So I decided to use White Linen and randomly sponge all over my pages.

love-sonnet-stencil-2

I added some stamping using Dina Wakley Stamps – Silhouetted Women and Scribble Wings. For the title I used Tim Holtz Cling Foam Stamps – Block Upper which I used black archival ink. Then to finish if off, I did use a baby wipe and a small amount of white linen paint and lightly smudged around the pages.

20180320_162545

Thanks for dropping by and make sure you check out the process video below xx

 

Leave a comment